RSVP for Free Community College Leadership Institute at JCCC

Employees are invited to attend the Community College Leadership Institute of Iowa on campus October 10 and 11, 2018!  CCLI Agenda JCCC Oct 2018.

  • October 10: 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
  • October 11: 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Lunch will be served from noon to 1 p.m.

It very important that we get a good head count for catering purposes for break refreshments both days and for lunch on the 11th.

Deadline to advise Staff Development of your attendance is Wednesday, October 3, 2018. Please RSVP to

  • Which day(s) you will be participating?: October 10, October 11, both, or unable to attend
  • Will you be participating in lunch on October 11? Please list any dietary needs we should be aware of.

This is a joint venture with JCCC. Speakers have been engaging, enriching, and thought-provoking and are different from past presenters. You need not commit to attending all of the sessions. You are free to come and go as you may throughout the two days.
If you should have any questions, feel free to contact Susan Hoffman or Valerie Reese in Staff Development at 913-469-7654 or

Mandatory Training Information August 2018

All employees have been enrolled into JCCC’s Mandatory training.  Look for an email to arrive in your inbox from Johnson County Community College bearing the subject line: SafeColleges Online Training. See below:

Screenshot of mandatory training email

The email will provide you details about how to access the training. It will list the modules that are mandatory to take along with the due date. The instructions will include the website ( to access training and ask you to enter your username (employee ID number). This ID number will be included in your email from SafeColleges.

All employees hired on or before September 1, 2018 must complete the training by December 1, 2018 to satisfy the fiscal year requirement. This year’s mandatory training programs (non-discrimination/anti-harassment and technology security) are broken down into four modules. In addition, the JCCC Campus Safety, reporting procedures and policies are included in the Resource Section as part of your training.

Discrimination and Harassment Prevention

  • Sexual Harassment: Staff-to-Staff (19 minutes)
  • Discrimination Awareness in the Workplace (14 minutes)

Information Security Awareness

  • Email and Messaging Safety (12 minutes)
  • Password Security Basics (7 minutes)

All employees hired after September 1, 2018 must complete the training programs below to satisfy the fiscal year requirement within 90 days of their hire date.

Discrimination and Harassment Prevention

  • Sexual Harassment: Staff-to-Staff (19 minutes)
  • Discrimination Awareness in the Workplace (14 minutes)

Information Security Awareness

  • Email and Messaging Safety (12 minutes)
  • Password Security Basics (7 minutes)


For additional information about using SafeColleges, please click here.

Questions? Please contact Staff Development ext. 7654 or

Accepting Proposals for Fall 2018 Professional Development Days

Staff Development is accepting proposals for August 2018 Professional Development Days (PDD) presentations. PDD sessions are 50-minutes and will be scheduled Aug. 13 through 17. PDD sessions will focus on five tracks:  teaching and learning, employee success, student success, campus and safety updates, and technology. Use the PPD online form to complete your proposal. All proposals must be submitted by 5 p.m. on Friday, June 29, to be considered. Contact Farrell Hoy Jenab, ext. 4756, if you have questions.

March and April Award Winners

Congratulations to the March and April award winners for Lieberman Award, the Bob Frizzell Award, Publications Award, Spotlight Award, BNSF Award, and our ten ACT Completers.

Lieberman Award

  • *Azin Agah, faculty, Chemistry
  • Tony Brogna, Economics
  • Jennifer Boutte, Science Resource Center
  • Les Clark, Economics
  • Stephen Dickey, Mathematics
  • Rachel DiCamillo, Humanities
  • Bond Faulwell, Political Science
  • George Ferguson, Business Administration
  • Ann Fielder, Reading
  • Ellen Fisher, Accounting
  • Hanan Fouad, Electronics Technology
  • Martha Haehl, Mathematics
  • *Robert Henn, Accounting
  • Staci Hubbard, Speech
  • Craig Jaggard, Mathematics
  • Beth Ann Johnstone, Business Office Technology
  • *Colby Keslar, Mathematics
  • Sharon Lundeen, Business Administration
  • Joseph Magnant, Entrepreneurship
  • Bernard Norcott-Mahany, Humanities
  • Marcela Renna, Interpreting for Professionals
  • Larry Ryan, Horticulture
  • *Tatiana Scanlan, English
  • Mary Ella Steck, Interpreting for Professionals
  • *Aubrey Urban, Theater
  • *Meagan Weldele, Chemistry

ACT Completers

  • Diane Cropp, Accounting
  • Sue Davis, Reading
  • Renae DeBruin, Human Sciences
  • Megan Doyle, College Success
  • Stephanie Ferrero, Environmental Sciences
  • Denise Filley, Psychology
  • Sasha Gluhovsky, Accounting
  • Madison Huber-Smith, Anthropology
  • Brooke Johnson, Accounting
  • Joe Stellwagon, Emergency Medical Science

Bob Frizzell Award

  • MargE Shelley, Admissions

Publications Award

  • Lydia Cline, Computer Drafting & Design
  • William McFarlane, Anthropology
  • Sayanti Ganguly Puckett, English
  • Heather Seitz, Biology
  • Allison Smith, Humanities

Spotlight Award

  • Jason Arnett, Dining Services
  • Megan Casey, Bursar Operations
  • Zach Gredlics, Health & Human Services
  • Kristy Howell, Sustainability Initiatives
  • Jeff Hoyer, Continuing Education Operations
  • Paul McCourt, Educational Tech/Distance Learning
  • Erica Miller, Professional Education
  • Michael Rea, Executive Sustainability
  • Debbie Rulo, Continuing Education
  • Brad Staupp, Academic Technology Services

BNSF Railway Award

  • Brett Cooper, Math Resource Center
  • *Tai Edwards, History
  • Monica Hogan, English
  • Jack Ireland, Automotive Technology
  • *Angela King, Accounting
  • Patrick Lafferty, Web Applications
  • *Jennifer Menon Parker, Human Sciences
  • *William Robinson, Mathematics
  • *Lori Slavin, Chemistry
  • Myra Young, Speech

*Recipients of Lieberman & BNSF Railway Awards