List of Committees and Committee Members for the English Department (and for a few of the committees in the Journalism Department) 2022-23

Updated  5/20/2022

Please contact Andrea Broomfield  to report omissions and corrections.

Dean of English and Journalism: Larry Reynolds

  • Facilities Master Plan Committee
  • JCCC Space Committee (Chair)
  • Dean Representative, Faculty Evaluation Committee
  • Administrative Liaison, Peer Review Council
  • JCCC Crisis Management Team, Representing Instructional Branch
  • Policies and Procedures Committee
  • Program Review Committee
  • Facilities Master Plan Steering Committee, Academic Spaces sub-committee
  • Faculty Portfolio Committee
  • AQIP Systems Portfolio Category Six Quality Overview Committee

Maureen Fitzpatrick: JCCC/Johnson County Arts and Heritage Partnership

Maureen Fitzpatrick: Kansas Representative, TYCA-Midwest

Beth Gulley, board of Kansas Association of Teachers of English

Beth Gulley, Riverfront Reading Committee

Holly Milkowart: Affiliated Faculty list for the Center for American Indian Studies (CAIS).

List of Committees and Committee Members for the E-J Division, 2021-2022 


Volunteers for the FA: Monica Hogan, Strategic Enrollment; Danny Alexander, Joint Workload Committee (co-chair); Diane Davis, Shaun Harris, social committee; Maureen Fitzpatrick, sick bank

Faculty Association Contract Negotiating Committee 2020-2021: David Davis

ADA Instructional Committee: Beth Gulley

Assessment Council:  Mark Browning, first year of a 3-year term.

Awards Committee: Monica Hogan

Campus Ledger Helmer Award Committee:  Gretchen Thum

Program Review: Tom Reynolds, elected fall 2021

Clubs and Organizations Sponsors:

  • Links to an external site.Chess Club: David Davis
  • Black Student Union: Danny Alexander (co-chair with Farrell Jenab)
  • St. Paul’s Outreach: Matthew Schmeer
  • JCCC Ad/PR Club: Gretchen Thum
  • Improv Club: Mark Browning
  • Collaborative Center Division Representative: Gretchen Thum
  • Student Environmental Alliance: Dan Cryer (co-chair with Lani Witters, Environmental Science)

College Now: Michael Carriger and Gretchen Thum

College Scholar Committee: Sayanti Ganguly Puckett

Office & Multimedia Classroom Technology Standards: Mark Browning

Developmental Education General Committee:  Doug Texter, first year of a 3-year term; Shaun Harris, third year of a 3-year term. The committee allows for 2 representatives from the division. Andrea Broomfield is a non-voting member.  Holly Milkowart is also a member of the committee.

Educational Affairs:    Maureen Fitzpatrick is in the second year of a 3-year term. Matthew Schmeer is in the first year of a 3-year term. Holly Milkowart, elected in 2022, is Alternate.

Educational Technology Center Faculty Advisory Committee: Sam Bell and Greg Dixon

Grade Review Appeal Committee:  Sayanti Ganguly Puckett

Great Books Lecture Series: Michael Carriger and Maureen Fitzpatrick

Headline Award Committee: Gretchen Thum

Honors Advisory Board:  Sam Bell, elected for fall 2021-

Honors Advisory Subcommittee for judging scholarship applications: Sam Bell

International Committee: Gretchen Thum, elected spring 2022, first year of a ____________ year term

Master Teacher Workshop: Michael Carriger and Andrea Broomfield

Once Upon an Artifact: Beth Gulley

Online Learning Advisory Council (OLAC):  Dan Cryer, second year of a 3-year term.

Open Education Resource Committee: Andrea Broomfield

Peer Review Council:  Diane Davis (first year of three(?) year term).

Peer Review Committees

  • Michael Price: Ted Rollins, chair (Danny Alexander, former chair will be on sabbatical for fall 2021); Jim McWard; Mark Swails (Library)
  • Doug Texter: Matthew Schmeer, chair, Beth Gulley, Steve Werkmeister
  • Bob Sykora: Michael Carriger, Tom Reynolds (chair), Sayanti Ganguly Puckett
  • Marianne Kunkel: David Davis, Dan Cryer, Beth Gulley

People in the Media: Gretchen Thum

People in Promotion: Gretchen Thum

Program Review:  Monica Hogan

Research Participant Protection Program (RPPP):  (Chaired by Eve Blobaum) Monica Hogan is the E/J Division Representative and Greg Dixon is the alternate.

Rose Scholarship Committee: Gretchen Thum

Sabbatical: Steve Werkmeister (first year of a 3-year term)

Service Learning, Participating Faculty: Sam Bell, Beth Gulley, Holly Milkowart

SoTL Scholar Academy: Beth Gulley

Special Grants:  Nathan Jones (second year of a _____________ year term elected May 2021)

Student Media Board:  Gretchen Thum and Jim McWard (elected May 2021)

Sustainability:  Holly Milkowart (Hunger Projects) and Greg Dixon (Committee is voluntary)

Testing Center Advisory Committee: Holly Milkowart

Veterans Advisory Team (VAT): Nathan Jones

Writing Center Advisory Committee: Maureen Fitzpatrick, Beth Gulley, Holly Milkowart, and Andrea Broomfield


English Chair:  Andrea Broomfield (elected 2023; first year of a 3-year term)
Journalism Chair:  Gretchen Thum
English for Academic Purposes Chair: Kate Austin

English Assistant Chair: Dan Cryer (elected 2023; first year of a 1-year term)

English Assessment Chair: Doug Texter (elected spring 2023; first year of a 3-year term)

Journalism Assessment Committee:  Gretchen Thum

English Department Adjunct Facilitators: Diane Davis, Maureen Fitzpatrick, Beth Gulley, Dan Cryer, Doug Texter

Ad Hoc Committee on Faculty Engagement: Diane Davis, Nathan Jones, Danny Alexander, Sam Bell, David Davis

Ad Hoc Social Committee: Sayanti Ganguly Puckett, Gretchen Thum, David Davis, Dan Cryer, Andrea Broomfield

Assessment: (3-year term) Doug Texter (Chair);  Michael Carriger (College Now representative), Mark Browning (first year of a three-year term), Ted Rollins (elected 2022; 1st year of a three-year term), Tom Reynolds (3rd year of a three-year term). Gretchen Thum (representing Journalism for an indefinite amount of time).

Cavalier Conference Committee:  Dan Cryer (chair), Andrea Broomfield, Beth Gulley, Maureen Fitzpatrick, Ted Rollins, Dan Cryer, Diane Davis, Bob Sykora, Sayanti Ganguly Puckett

Common Read: Maureen Fitzpatrick (chair), Tom Reynolds, Monica Hogan, Shaun Harris, Bob Sykora, Mark Browning

Creative Writing Reading Committee: Matthew Schmeer, Sam Bell, and Tom Reynolds.

Curriculum Committee:  Holly Milkowart, Gretchen Thum, Andrea Broomfield, permanent members.  Beth Gulley and Maureen Fitzpatrick, Ed Affairs members. Monica Hogan (second year of a two-year term);  Matthew Schmeer, Dan Cryer, Shaun Harris (second year of a two-year term), Bob Sykora (1st year of two-year term)

Developmental English Committee:  David Davis, Diane Davis, Beth Gulley, Maureen Fitzpatrick, Greg Dixon, Nathan Jones, Shaun Harris, Ted Rollins

Election Committee: Mark Browning (elected 2022; first year of a three-year term), Nathan Jones (elected 2022; 1st  year of a three-year term), Maureen Fitzpatrick (elected 2022; 1st year of a three-year term), Steve Werkmeister (elected 2022; 1st year of a three-year term)

English Blog: Diane Davis

Program Review: Beth Gulley (chair) Sayanti Ganguly Puckett, Doug Texter, Greg Luthi

Social Committee: Diane Davis, Sayanti Ganguly Puckett, Gretchen Thum, Dan Cryer, Dave Davis

2021-2022 Textbook Committees:

Composition II: Sam Bell (Chair), Diane Davis, Sayanti Ganguly Puckett, Dan Cryer, Jim McWard, Greg Luthi

Composition I: Bob Sykora (Chair), Marianne Kunkel, Greg Dixon, Michael Carriger, Maureen Fitzpatrick

Developmental Writing: Dave Davis (Chair), Shaun Harris, Beth Gulley, Doug Texter